Supplementary Polls: INEC Declares PDP Winner of Ojo House of Reps Seat

THE Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has declared Peoples Democratic Party, PDP candidate, Adekunle Obasa, winner of the House of Representatives election in Ojo Federal Constituency, Lagos State.

Ojo Federal Constituency election was one of the six federal constituencies earlier announced by INEC, where House of Representatives supplementary elections was held across the country.

The supplementary elections in 148 polling units was held in Oshodi/Isolo I, Oshodi/Isolo II, Ojo, Eti-Osa, Somolu, and Ajeromi/Ifelodun where voting were previously marred or the election declared inconclusive on February 23.

Obasa had earlier scored a total votes of 28,691 and was closely followed by the All Progressives Congress, APC, candidate, Yinka Durosinmi, with 25,545, before the exercise was declared by Professor Yomi Akinyeye from the department of History and Strategic Studies, University of Lagos, as inconclusive.

Announcing the final results yesterday, at INEC office at Igbede community, after the supplementary elections held at polling units in Okokomaiko, Ijanikin, Ilogbo and Ojo, the returning officer, Dr. Taibat Lawson, discloses that the PDP candidate polled 148 additional votes to defeat his closest rival, Durosinmi, who added 259 votes.

According to Lawson, Obasa finally polled 28,839 while the APC candidate had 25, 804 votes after the exercise.

She said: “Adekunle Obasa of the PDP, having satisfied the requirements of the law, has scored the highest number of votes, is hereby declared the winner and returned elected.”

Facebook Comments

Advertise or Publish a Story on EkoHot Blog:

Kindly contact us at Breaking stories should be sent to the above email and substantiated with pictorial evidence.

Citizen journalists will receive a token as data incentive.

Call or Whatsapp: 0803 561 7233, 0703 414 5611