PSC Promotes 8,916 Officers, 3 AIGs




The Police Service Commission, PSC, has approved the promotion of 8,916 senior Police Officers to their next substantive ranks to fill existing vacancies.


A statement by the commission by Ikechukwu Ani, Head of Press and Information, said the promotions were the high points of the 5th Plenary Meeting of the Commission held in Abuja on March 26 and 27, 2019 and presided over by its Chairman, Musiliu Smith, a retired Inspector General of Police.


He said: “The commission approved the promotion of three Commissioners of Police to the next rank of Assistant Inspectors General of Police.  They are; Jona Mava; Olushola David and Titus Larmode.


“The acting appointments of two Commissioners of Police were also confirmed. The beneficiaries are; Rudolf  Obe, Works and Danladi Lalas, Air Wing.


“Also, 71 Assistant Commissioners of Police were elevated to the next rank of Deputy Commissioners of Police and they include Ogundare Emmanuel; Alonge Adebowale; Augustina Ogbodo; Ibrahim Abdullahi; Garba Ahmed; Uzuegbu Kanayo; Zubairu Abubakar; Vincent Nwajiofor (works), Polycarp Dibia and Emeka  Mba, the Force Public Relations Officer.


“Similarly, 102 Chief Superintendents of Police, CSPs, were also promoted to Assistant Commissioners of Police. They are Michael Masomene; Egbe Edum; Onyeamu Onyeamu; Dauda Ayuba; Chinedu Ugwu; Moses Gana; Victor Bepeh; Aminu Musa; Danjuma Madugu; Promose Udeh; Anthony Okon Placio; Ikechukwu Nwosu; Okey  Nwabufo; Ayodeji  Dagunduro; Kanu Okoronkwo (works); Agbo Usman (forensic); Mustapha Rufai; among others.”


The Commission also promoted 487 Deputy Superintendents of Police to Superintendents. 


Also, 1165 Assistant Superintendents of Police, ASPs, were promoted to the next rank of Deputy Superintendents of Police, DSP, while 7,086 Inspectors were elevated to Assistant Superintendents of Police.


Some of the new DSPs are: Chinemelum Bartholomew of the Complaints Response Unit, Force Headquarters, Abuja, Jeremiah Zumnan; Adewale Ajibuwa while Hope Nnah of Abia Command; Saviour Etetim made the list of the newly-promoted Inspectors to ASPs.


The promotions will be conveyed to the acting Inspector General of Police on April 1, 2019 in a letter by Nnamdi Mbaeri, Permanent Secretary and Secretary to the Commission.

Facebook Comments

Advertise or Publish a Story on EkoHot Blog:

Kindly contact us at Breaking stories should be sent to the above email and substantiated with pictorial evidence.

Citizen journalists will receive a token as data incentive.

Call or Whatsapp: 0803 561 7233, 0703 414 5611