Eko Hot blog Coronavirus Update    


Connect with us


COVID-19: EU Bans Nigerians From Travelling To Europe Ahead Of Region’s Border Reopening



Human Trafficking: Immigration Service Rescues Seven Girls
COVID-19: EU Bans Nigerians From Travelling To Europe Ahead Of Region's Border Reopening

The European Union Commission has imposed a travel ban on Nigeria ahead of the reopening of its borders.

The commission excluded Nigeria from the list of countries whose nationals will be allowed in the region when border are opened from July 1.

The European countries had shut their borders as part of the efforts to tackle the COVID-19 pandemic when it spread into the region.

With the easing of lockdown restrictions, the EU had released a draft list of 54 countries that will be granted entry into the borders.

Also Read: [BREAKING] COVID-19: FG Lifts Ban On Interstate Travel

An update of the countries on the entry list to Europe are Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco and New Zealand.

Others are Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay and China.

On June 11, the European Commission had asked its member to extend entry ban on third-country nationals until June 30.

The United States, Brazil and Russia were also exempted on the approved list.

Eric Mamer, spokesperson for the EU commission, said the criteria used to select the countries is based on their health situation.

“The European Union has an internal process to determine from which countries it would be safe to accept travellers,” he said.

DISCLAIMER: Opinion articles are solely the responsibility of the author and does not necessarily reflect the views of the publishers Of  


For publication of your News Contents, articles, Videos or any other News Worthy Materials, please send to [email protected]

For Advert and other info, you can call 08035617233 or send a WhatsApp Message to 08035617233.

Please drop your comments

Click to comment

We Love to Hear from you

Trending Stories